No Bed of Roses

(Free People necklace//Figleaf wrap top//AE jeans//Mix No.6 booties)

I feel bad posting another (realistic) winter outfit because the bottom half ALWAYS LOOKS THE DAMN SAME!! Black pants and black boots but I can’t help it, it’s just too cold for anything else and my colored pants clash with my hair right now! So I am sorry if winter looks are getting really stale for you. I at least tried to spice it up with my makeup because I had the extra time this morning and I always love looks like this. Pink hair with rosy makeup and/or clothes makes me feel like an actual rose. Clearly not one without the thorns but hey… that’s just part of the package.

I feel like there’s a bit of an awkward nature about these photos because for some reason, I did not finish my coffee this morning and I feel like a zombie. Coffee is basically my lifejuice as a busy student who, unfortunately, is strugglin’ real hard with insomnia. It’s a tricky problem because obviously not sleeping is not good for you… but relying on sleep aids and caffeine ain’t good for you either. So I’m in a bit of a dilemma with that. I read a really interesting article about our “27/7 society” and how sleep is not only being affected but we are actively trying to nix it altogether. The motivation is all about capitalist gain and I find that pretty terrifying. And those who struggle with insomnia do so because of the pressure to be constantly vigilant and hyper-aware. Is my affliction just a product of our modern society, that I couldn’t even bother trying to escape?

(if you’re interested, the piece I referenced is called “24/7: Late Capitalism and the Ends of Sleep by Jonathan Crary – it’s a really great read and I highly recommend)

Leave a Reply

