Wrapped Up

(Stella&Dot jewelry//Aerie top//Brandy Melville skirt//Steve Madden shoes)

I need to preface this by saying I do NOT think this unusually warm weather is fun or wonderful. The planet’s dying and it’s starting to show. And honestly? In February, I wanna see some snow. However, I’m obviously going to dress appropriately for the weather and lately I’ve gotten to pull things out of my closet that I haven’t been able to wear in months. Skirts without tights, and an entirely light outfit without a jacket. I also kind of “dressed up” today to make up for looking so dumpy yesterday. Does anyone else do that? Somehow I feel like I can compensate for a sweatpants day with a glam day. Sorta-kinda makes sense in my mind.

There’s some irony in the celebration of 60+ degree weather in Chicago in February. There’s a lot of irony in general about the way humans define progress and disaster. Warm temperatures due to climate change are viewed as good, while earthquakes/hurricanes/etc. due to the natural ways of the world are labeled as disaster. It’s a delight when nature serves us – our determination of “how things are going” is totally human-centric. Not shocking at all, but just some food for thought. Enjoy the sunshine, but don’t forget to consider what it means! I don’t know about the rest of y’all, but I’m not ready for robo-bees and stuff like, ya know, sweating in February. 

Leave a Reply

