Pierced

If you’ve ever so much as looked at me or my blog photos, you’ve probably noticed that I have at least a couple of piercings. In fact, it relates to one of the reasons I named this blog “Heavy Metal” in the first place – I love to decorate myself with lots of metal jewelry! And since I just made an addition to one of my ears yesterday, I figured now would be a good time to make a post about it. If piercings bother or don’t interest you, I don’t recommend reading this one through. But if you’re curious at all, or are interested in reading about other people’s experiences with getting piercings, then I’m going to do my best to talk about each one in detail!

Lobes

The first and most boring category I’ll briefly talk about is earlobe piercings. Everyone and their mom has at least one pair done, and it’s pretty widely known that it’s no big deal. I got my first ones done when I turned 10, and my doubles done this past August. The pain is minimal, the healing time is very quick (about a month or so to change earrings, another couple months to be healed fully). You can switch out the jewelry whenever you want and there’s generally no “struggles” with this one.

One of my new piercings is the area I’d call my “upper lobe” – which if my memory isn’t failing me, was a different experience than the others. Maybe it’s the proximity to the cartilage that made the difference, but this one was far more painful than the regular lobes. Still, I anticipate it’ll be easy to deal with in the next few months.

Nostril

My nose piercing was the second piercing I ever got done, and I’d say it’s the second most common out of what I have. I wear a captive bead hoop on my right nostril and have never had any other jewelry in that piercing. I remember it being painful but much less so than I expected. It also bled surprisingly little considering I am the bloody nose queen. I’ve had it for about a year and a half now, so it is fully healed. I will admit I’ve had an ongoing, on-and-off struggle with the piercing bump there, and tea tree oil has been my best weapon for such a problem.

Rook

I got my rook piercing done the same day as my nostril, and I would say the pain was about the same. However, my friend got hers done too and the pain experience was different for her. It’s all subjective! If you don’t know what a rook piercing is, it’s the vertical upper-cartilage piercing that can be seen in the first photo above, with a small barbell. The healing process was very easy with this one, and I partly credit it to the fact that it’s kind of tucked into the ear so it doesn’t get bumped around too much. I even managed to sleep on it relatively soon after I got it pierced. The only time I had any issues with it were following  me turning and playing with it excessively. So don’t do that, and you’ll be fine.

Conch

My conch piercing is the one I have in the same ear as my rook piercing, with a captive bead ring that wraps around the outside of the ear. This is both my favorite piercing (aside from my nose) and also the biggest pain in the butt. I was shocked at the pain level of this one – it actually didn’t hurt too badly or make a crunching sound as some people had warned. I would compare the pain to be the same as my other cartilage piercings. However, I put a ring in the piercing right off the bat and that wasn’t the most practical choice. In fact, they gave me one with a diameter even bigger than the one I wear now so it was huge and very easy to bump around. I couldn’t sleep on it through the healing process and even now, sleeping on it is a little awkward. It was sore and irritated for about 6 months, and at that point I switched my jewelry and it also began to calm down. Now that it’s fully healed, I don’t experience any problems with it, but I’d advise others to get a barbell first – the “look” can wait.

Daith 

I got my daith piercing done on the same day as my conch piercing – this was my second impatient mistake. I always get 2 piercings done at a time (for value’s sake, 2-for-1 days!) and the piercings I wanted done that day were in different ears. The piercer even warned me that this may not be an ideal choice, but I went through with it anyway. The pain was, again, no worse than anything else – though some report that this is their most painful piercing. Mine definitely bled a lot – badly enough that my ear filled with blood and the piercer had to wait for it to stop because he couldn’t see the hole. Inserting a heart-shaped ring into an already awkward spot was also a little uncomfortable, but I managed. I definitely didn’t sleep easy the first few nights, having both of my ears freshly pierced, but the daith features a similar virtue with the rook; it’s tucked into my ear, so I can mostly lay on it without actually hurting it. It took around 6 months to heal with only occasional flare-ups, usually related to it being knocked or played with. It’s now one of my favorite piercings because of the heart-shape, so no regrets!

Helix

My other fresh piercing is the lower-helix I got in partner with my upper-lobe. Now, I don’t know if I had just forgotten what the pain of piercings felt like but… this one hurt. Way more than I anticipated. Not the best reaction considering I’ll probably get at least one more helix piercing in the future, but it’s all worth it. This is supposed to heal in about 6 months, but I can’t offer much advice on this one yet.

I hope this story/review on all my piercings is helpful or interesting to at least one person, and if you have any questions I’d be happy to answer them! Any piercing definitely takes commitment – a lot of cleaning, pain, and money goes into it. But it’s also a lot of fun decorating your ears. As weird as it sounds, it’s a real confidence boost and I’m enjoying the journey.

Leave a Reply

