Daze

(thrifted Lucky Brand top//H&M pants//Steve Madden shoes)

I have to admit, I think I’ve been a little bit lazy when it comes to shooting these outfit posts. While it’s very hard to shoot just anywhere in Chicago and being a very busy student, my little room corner was definitely getting a little stale. I decided for a slight change of scenery and I’m so glad I did! This is the studio space in my building which during the day, is fairly empty and the light is amazing. It’s been my goal from the beginning to have my blog photos transcend documentation and be artistic as well, and I need to continue to take the time to make that happen.

When I put together this outfit, I didn’t really have any particular inspirations in mind. I hadn’t worn this top in a while, and I thought it’d be interesting to play with texture and also the sheerness of the top. (I’m also still keeping things neutral because of my purple hair) However I had an acquaintance, who is an international student from India, tell me my top looked like something extremely typical of Indian fashion. That was clearly not my intention, considering it’s Lucky Brand and that I just stumbled upon it at a thrift store. But I’m quite pleased with her comment because Indian fashion is absolutely beautiful and both inspires and intrigues me. My interest in fashion has gotten me so interested in the garments, both traditional and modern, of other cultures and I feel like I’ve gained even the smallest bit more insight. As I’m typing this, I realize it might be fun to collaborate with some international friends to find out more about fashion around the world. I’ve been pretty interested in the idea of collaboration and photographing other people lately – so I’d better get on it before that feeling passes and I resume my lone wolf status.

Leave a Reply

