Pumpkin Head

(AE hat//Stella & Dot jewelry//World Market scarf and kimono//AE jeans//Doc Martens//Colourpop ultra satin lip in Frick n Frack)

Small doses of color at a time. A little pumpkin spice requires a big wash of black. But look how fall I am, right?! Hella October vibes. Feelin like a witchy pumpkin queen on my solo excursion to the Museum of Contemporary Art. Which, if you live in the Chicago area, I highly recommend visiting sometime soon. I viewed every exhibition that’s currently up and I saw some truly incredible and moving work. I felt a personal connections to some of these works regarding my own interests and practice.

The first collection I viewed was Witness, which explores the responsibility of the photographer as a witness to the lives of the people they are shooting. When is it acceptable to capture someone, and where is the line drawn? I don’t photograph a lot of other people, but it’s a very important discussion in the world of photography, and I will definitely take it to heart and keep it in mind for the future. I also viewed Andrew Yang‘s exhibition which blew my mind. Yang has an extensive background in biology and the philosophy of science and directly applies them to his work. The installations on display generally bridge the gap between us as humans and our galaxy, as well as our biological makeup. Looking outward macroscopically and inward microscopically. I’m secretly still a pretty big science nerd, so Yang’s work was right up my alley. Amazing. If you can’t visit the gallery, I highly recommend at least checking out the website’s samples of each show.

 Other than the hues of clothing and makeup, it’s getting a little bit hard to define “fall fashion”. The temperature here is fluctuating like crazy and it’s actually supposed to get up to 80 degrees this week. I overheard someone saying we’re having an “Indian summer”, but I think that’s just a more romantic way of looking at… low key climate change. But that’s just my opinion. I won’t complain too much about one more week of not wearing tights but I’m prepared to bundle up very soon.

2 Comments

Add yours →

  1. That’s amazingly done. Love it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

