Witch in Stitches

(H&M hat and earrings//Stella&Dot rings//World Market kimono//Free People shorts)

Today was my first day of Monday classes and as first days sometimes go… we got out way early. So I get to do an extra OOTD this week! The outfit I’m wearing today has actually been in a post before, so I put together a different one for this post. I wanted to feature these awesome Free People shorts before it got too cold to wear them. I got them on sale for $20 (whaaaaat?! how? who knows). They’re a really comfortable fit with a decent length for a pair of denim shorts which is refreshing. I absolutely looove the floral embroidery all over them too. Since I got them late this season they may not have gotten a lot of mileage this summer, but I know I’ll be glad to have them when next year comes around.

The class I started today is Fashion Illustration. I don’t consider myself an illustrator in any sense; I can draw for paintings, embroideries, etc. but I’ve never felt that my drawing skills were great on their own. However, after taking intro to fashion last semester, I really loved the illustration portion of the class. Though it takes me a lot of time to draw the figure correctly, I love the fashion freedom of drawing. You can literally draw anything, even if it would be relatively difficult to bring to real life. I’m also taking a fibers class which includes many processes such as embroidery, shibori (dye process), crochet, etc. I consider fibers both a fine arts form, but also another preliminary step to fashion. So far I’m excited about both classes (and photography of course, but that’s a given). I don’t know how much of my future career will involve fashion but I’m looking into all corners for the knowledge that I’ll need. Plus – it’s fun.

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Love this outfit! Those shorts are amazing

    Out of curiosity – do you have someone take your photos for you?

    Like

Leave a Reply

