Artist Intro

Alright I keep saying that I’m going to make a post about my artwork and keep just posting outfits… but I’m finally doing it! Obviously subject matter like this doesn’t all fit into one post, but I’m just sort of making an introduction to who I am as an artist and whatnot.

I’ve been interested in art my whole life and began doing photography (my dominant medium) when I was about 13 or so. After a high school career of excelling at more “academic” subjects, I still decided that I wanted to attend art school. I’m a rising sophomore at the School of the Art Institute of Chicago and my main focuses are photography and fashion. As a freshman, I did a great deal of work that was outside of my area of specialty but I feel like I’m a fairly well-rounded artist and enjoyed most of the projects. Below, I’m going to share a sample of some of my favorite works from this past year:

loberlinREPLICANTcurlpenumbraVANGOGHPRINT

(Titles from top to bottom: Home Sweet Home//Replicant//Wither//Penumbra//A Modern Van Gogh)

I’m definitely noticing that some of the pieces I was able to grab from my files (yes, this post is partially about convenience, not gonna lie!) that I definitely picked some darker pieces. I don’t think that darker work appeals to as wide of an audience, but that’s not to say I’d change or sensor myself in any way. I am dark as an artist and I don’t see that changing any time soon. My paintings and fashion work are definitely less heavy and I will share those in later posts! Just thought I’d give a sample for now. What do you think, are these kinds of posts appealing? Any other artist-fashionistas out there?

Leave a Reply

